### COUNCIL

At a meeting of Annual Council on Friday, 20 May 2011 in the Council Chamber, Runcorn Town Hall

Present: Councillors Austin, Balmer, M. Bradshaw, J. Bradshaw, Browne, D. Cargill, E. Cargill, Carlin, Dennett, Edge, J. Gerrard, Harris, Hignett, Hodge, Howard, Jones, Leadbetter, M Lloyd Jones, P. Lloyd Jones, K. Loftus, A. Lowe, J. Lowe, Macmanus, McDermott, McInerney, Morley, Nelson, Osborne, Parker, Philbin, Polhill, M. Ratcliffe, Redhead, Roberts, Stockton, Swain, Thompson, Wainwright, Wallace and Wharton

Apologies for Absence: Councillors Fry, Hodgkinson, Horabin, Nolan, Rowe and Shepherd

Absence declared on Council business: None

Officers present: M. Reaney, A. Scott, D. Johnson, I. Leivesley, G. Meehan and D. Parr

Also in attendance: None

Action

### COU1 ELECTION OF MAYOR AND DEPUTY MAYOR

Moved by Councillor McDermott and seconded by Councillor Gilligan

RESOLVED: That Councillor Keith Morley be elected Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2011/12.

Moved by Councillor Parker and seconded by Councillor Wharton.

RESOLVED: That Councillor Tom McInerney be elected Deputy Mayor for the Borough for the Municipal Year 2011/12.

# THE MAYOR (COUNCILLOR KEITH MORLEY) IN THE CHAIR

### COU2 MINUTES

The minutes of the Ordinary Meeting of the Council

held on 20 April 2011, having been printed and circulated, were taken as read and signed as a correct record.

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the meeting be confirmed and adopted.

### COU3 THE MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor made the following announcements:-

- 1. that the charities he would support during his term of office would be:
  - Halton Haven Hospice
  - Halton Royal British Legion
  - Mark Gorry Foundation
- 2. the Mayor's Chaplain for 2011/12 would be Reverend Ray Jones

# COU4 BOROUGH COUNCIL ELECTION AND AV REFERENDUM RESULTS 5 MAY 2011

Details of the Borough Council election results and the AV Referendum results held on 5 May 2011 were submitted for information.

RESOLVED: That the election results be noted.

# COU5 EXECUTIVE BOARD (SELECTION COMMITTEE) 17 MAY 2011

The following recommendations of the Executive Board were moved by the Mayor and seconded by the Deputy Mayor.

### COU6 LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

**RESOLVED: That** 

- Councillor Polhill be appointed Leader of the Council; and
- 2) Councillor Wharton be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council for the Municipal Year 2011/2012.

# COU7 BOARDS, COMMITTEES, APPEAL PANEL AND WORKING PARTY

RESOLVED: That the Boards, Committees, Appeals Panel and Working Party be constituted with the membership as shown for the Municipal Year 2011/12:

### **Executive Board (10)**

Councillors Polhill, (Chairman), D. Cargill, Harris, Jones, McInerney, Nelson, Stockton, Swain, Wharton and Wright.

### Executive Sub (3)

Councillors Wharton (Chairman), Harris and Nelson.

### **3MG Executive Sub-Board (3)**

Councillors McInerney, Nelson and Stockton

### **Mersey Gateway Executive Board (3)**

Councillors Polhill (Chairman), Wharton and Stockton

## **Corporate Policy and Performance Board (11)**

Councillors A. Lowe (Chairman), J Roberts (Vice Chair) Browne, Dennett, Gilligan, C. Loftus, A McInerney, Philbin, N Plumpton Walsh, Redhead, and Wainwright.

### **Health Policy and Performance Board (11)**

Councillors E. Cargill (Chairman), J. Lowe (Vice Chair), Austin, Baker, Dennett, Horabin, M Lloyd-Jones, C Loftus, MacManus, C Plumpton Walsh and Zygadllo

# **Environment and Urban Renewal Policy and Performance Board (11)**

Councillors Hignett (Chairman), Gerrard (Vice Chair), Baker, J Bradshaw, E. Cargill, Hodgkinson, A McInerney, Nolan, Thompson, Wainwright and Zygadllo.

# **Employment, Learning, Skills and Community Policy and Performance Board (11)**

Councillors Edge (Chairman), P Lloyd Jones (Vice Chair), Carlin, Horabin, Howard, MacManus, Parker, C Plumpton Walsh, Roberts, Rowe, and Zygadllo.

# Children, Young People and Families Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Dennett (Chairman), Horabin (Vice Chairman), M Bradshaw, Cole, Fraser, Fry, Hodge, P Lloyd Jones, K

Loftus, J. Lowe and N Plumpton Walsh

## **Safer Policy and Performance Board (11)**

Councillors Osborne (Chairman), Wallace (Vice Chair), Cole, Edge, Fraser, Gerrard, M Lloyd Jones, Ratcliffe, N Plumpton Walsh, Shepherd and Thompson.

### **Development Control Committee (11)**

Councillors Nolan (Chairman), Thompson (Vice Chairman), Balmer, J. Bradshaw, Cole, Gilligan, Hignett, Hodgkinson, Leadbetter, T McInerney, and Osborne.

## **Business Efficiency Board (11)**

Councillors Leadbetter (Chairman), M Lloyd Jones (Vice Chair), Balmer, Browne, Howard, A. Lowe, McDermott, MacManus, Philbin, Roberts and Rowe.

### **Standards Committee (11)**

Mr. W. Badrock, Parish Councillor B Allen, Mrs A Morris, Mr A. Luxton, Parish Councillor Canon David Felix, Mr. Robert Garner and Councillors Browne, Parker, Redhead, Swain and Wainwright.

## Appeals Panel (20)

Councillors Wainwright (Chairman), Parker (Vice Chairman), Austin, E Cargill, Edge, Fry, Gerrard, Gilligan, Hodge, D Leadbetter, P Lloyd Jones, K Loftus, J. Lowe, McDermott, A McInerney, Osborne, C Plumpton Walsh, M. Ratcliffe, Redhead and Wallace.

### **Regulatory Committee (11)**

Councillors Philbin (Chairman), K Loftus (Vice-Chairman), Browne, Fraser, Fry, Howard, A. Lowe, McDermott, Ratcliffe, Wainwright and Wallace.

## **Local Development Framework Working Party (15)**

Councillors T McInerney (Chairman), Browne, Gerrard, Hignett, Hodgkinson, MacManus, McDermott, Nolan, Parker, Polhill, Roberts and Wainwright.

## **Mayoral Committee (5)**

The incumbent Mayor (Councillor Morley) and Councillors Browne, Gilligan, Hignett and Hodgkinson.

### **Appointments Committee (6)**

Councillors Polhill, Browne, Redhead and Wharton (plus relevant PPB Chairs x 2 )

### COU8 APPOINTMENT OF SCRUTINY CO-ORDINATOR

RESOLVED: That Councillor Tony McDermott be appointed Scrutiny Co-ordinator for the forthcoming Municipal Year.

COU9 APPOINTMENT OF CO-OPTEES TO THE HEALTH POLICY AND PERFORMANCE BOARD AND THE SAFER POLICY AND PERFORMANCE BOARD

RESOLVED: That the following appointments be confirmed for the 2011/12 Municipal year:

- 1) Mr Paul Cooke as the LINk representative on the Health Policy and Performance Board; and
- 2) Mr Bob Hodson as the Police Authority representative on the Safer Policy and Performance Board.

# COU10 EXECUTIVE BOARD PORTFOLIOS

The Leader confirmed that the Executive Board would consist of the following portfolio holders for the forthcoming year:

Children, Young People and Families— Councillor Swain Health and Adults — Councillor Wright Transportation— Councillor Stockton Community Safety— Councillor D Cargill Economic Development — Councillor Jones Resources — Councillor Wharton Environmental Sustainability — Councillor Nelson Neighbourhood, Leisure and Sport — Councillor Harris. Physical Environment — Councillor McInerney

RESOLVED: That the portfolios be noted.

### COU11 CIVIC SUNDAY

The Mayor announced his intention to attend a Civic Service at St Paul's Church, Victoria Square, Widnes on Sunday 10 July 2011 at 9.30am.

Meeting ended at 7.10 p.m.